Hemp, and subsequently Delta-8-THC, have been legalized on a federal scale, but not every state agrees. Is Delta-8-THC legal in Tennessee? And if so, where can you find it?
Tennessee has updated their hemp laws to broadly legalize hemp and its derivatives. The new state legislation also makes a specific exemption for hemp in the Controlled Substances Act. Thanks to these updates, Delta-8-THC is legal in Tennessee.
Here’s everything you need to know about Tennessee Delta-8 laws:
Looking for legal Delta-8-THC you can buy in Tennessee? Check out our Elev8 Collection.
Disclaimer: We’re always working to stay informed on the latest Delta-8 laws and research. However, state laws are subject to change and we advise that you do your own research to verify the information you find in this article. This is not intended as legal advice.
Table of Contents
Delta-8-THC and Federal Laws
Tennessee Delta-8-THC Laws
Is Delta-8 a Controlled Substance in Tennessee?
Delta-8-THC Possession Limits in Tennessee
Is Delta-9-THC Legal in Tennessee?
Where to Buy Delta-8 in Tennessee
Do You Have to Be 21 to Buy Delta-8?
Is Delta-8 Legal in All 50 States?
Tennessee legalized hemp using a definition that is nearly identical to the one used in federal legislation. That means that Tennessee legalized hemp and all hemp derivatives (like CBD), including cannabinoids, isomers, salts of isomers, acids, and other extracts, provided the hemp material contains no more than 0.3% Delta-9-THC.
The legislation goes further to create clear separation between “marijuana” and “hemp.” The text also specifically declares that hemp is not classified as a Controlled Substance in the state.
By these laws, Delta-8-THC is legal in Tennessee. Similar laws have been used to legalize Delta-8 in other nearby states, like Alabama, Mississippi, and Virginia. That means Delta-8 may be widely accessible in the local area.
Here are some highlights from the text:
(3) “Hemp” means the plant cannabis sativa L. and any part of that plant, including the seeds thereof and all derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts, and salts of isomers, whether growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration of not more than three-tenths of one percent (0.3%) on a dry weight basis; and
(4) “THC” means delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol.
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 39-17-402(16)(C), is amended by deleting the subdivision and substituting the following:
(C) “Marijuana” also does not include hemp, as defined in § 43-27-101;
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 39-17-415, is amended by deleting subsection (c) and substituting the following:
(c) This section does not categorize hemp, as defined in $ 43-27-101, as a controlled substance.
Nope! Tennessee’s new hemp laws serve to amend Section 39-17-415, or the state’s Controlled Substances Act, to add the following phrase:
“This section does not categorize hemp, as defined in $ 43-27-101, as a controlled substance.”
That means that Delta-8 that is derived from legal hemp material is not a Controlled Substance in Tennessee.
In Tennessee, there are no defined possession limits for legal hemp material, including extracts and cannabinoid products. That means there are no possession limits in place for Delta-8-THC.
Still, Delta-8 could be easily confused for Delta-9 THC by authorities without proper documentation and lab testing.
Basic lab testing checks only for tetrahydrocannabinol, meaning that extensive lab tests are needed to differentiate between Delta-8 content and Delta-9 content when proof of legal possession is needed.
No. Cannabis is illegal for both medicinal and recreational use in Tennessee. The state does allow very limited use of CBD products containing up to 0.9% Delta-9-THC, but all efforts to expand the state’s medical program have failed.
Illegal possession of cannabis in Tennessee is punishable by a Class A Misdemeanor, which can include up to one year in jail and/or fines ranging from $250 to $2,5000.
In Tennessee, hemp products can be marketed and sold in stores across the state, but there isn’t much regulation in place to protect consumers. That means that you can find Delta-8 in local stores, but the quality may be in question.
Instead of taking a risk with a local shop, there may be benefits to buying Delta-8 online. One reason is that you can buy directly from a brand or manufacturer, instead of purchasing through a third-party vendor that may not fully understand Delta-8 effects and uses or the laws surrounding Delta-8 products.
At Vida Optima, our Delta-8-THC products comply with all parameters of the Hemp Farming Act of 2018. We can also help answer questions about Delta-8 before you buy, or you can read our “What is Delta-8-THC?” guide to learn everything you need to know.
There are no state regulations that place age restriction on the purchase of hemp-derived products. Retailers have the right to determine age limits for the purchase of Delta-8 products, but many retailers require consumers to be at least 21 years of age.
Delta-8-THC is currently federally legal under the context of the Hemp Farming Act of 2018, but each state has the right to determine their own stance on tetrahydrocannabinols derived from hemp. Delta-8-THC is legal in Tennessee according to state law, but you should read more about Delta-8 laws by state to determine the legality in other areas.
Ready to shop for Delta-8 in Tennessee? Our Elev8 collection includes edibles, tinctures, vapes, and more that are Farm Bill compliant and legal in the U.S.
Comments will be approved before showing up.